IKEA to Sell Solar Panels, Who Knew?

by

Click to receive automatic blog updates

From the title of this post you might think I am trying to help spread the word for big box retailer IKEA about their strategy to start selling eco-friendly products like solar panels.  The idea is pretty cool, but I am more interested in illustrating a mistake I see a lot of firms (large and small) making by neglecting to use their website home pages to feature attention-grabbing company news blurbs.

The folks over at Inhabit and others are blogging about IKEA’s developing eco-strategy but there is no visible mention of it at the IKEA site.  I will be the first to tell you to repurpose your broadcast Television video on the web but tell me what is more interesting; the headline, IKEA the first retailer to sell solar panels in stores or watch all of my tv commercials?  The morale of the story here is to constantly comb your organization for interesting, cool ideas and when you find gold let the world know.  Don’t bury the news in your online newsroom for journalists who happen upon it.  Add a catchy headline to your homepage to advertise exciting news to the world. Heck, have your web developer add a little RSS code to the page to instantly ping search engines about your great news.

How do you use your website to spread the word?

Related Topics

  1. Search Engine Optimized Press Releases
  2. How to Get In the Charlotte Observer
  3. For hundreds of ways to get customers to call you (subscribe to our newsletter) (browse archive)

What Should I do Next?

Tags: , , , , ,

2 Responses to “IKEA to Sell Solar Panels, Who Knew?”

  1. Joan Stewart, The Publicity Hound Says:

    John, thanks for the reminder.

    I used to have a blurb at the top of my homepage, right under the mainheadline, that said: “What’s New:”.

    I’d use it to promote new teleseminars I’m hosting, events where I’m speaking, new products I’m creating on publicity-related topics, etc. But for some reason, I removed it. I’m going to start using it again. It forces me to keep the homepage fresh. And it makes the homepage newsier.

  2. John Easton Says:

    Joan,

    I am glad to learn that the post sparked a reminder for you. We are all so busy moving in so many directions that it is easy to miss the simple stuff.

    John

Leave a Reply

